Life on the Daily: Beef Curry and My Beef with Chile


Happy Friday y’all.

It’s been about a week since my last post. This is why:

1. I have not been cooking interesting things or eating out much because I’ve been sitting around my house, trying not to spend money. This will change, but during April, pickings are slim. Money is being saved for trips and weekend outings. Also, I’m still sort of figuring out Chilean food. I didn’t come here knowing much and am starting from scratch with what is available here, how to make it, what it’s called, etc. I need a cooking guardian, some nice Chilean to show me how to make authentic dishes in her home. Right now, if I only made Chilean food, that would mean eating hot dogs and french fries everyday which would kill me in a week.

2. Nothing that exciting has happened. Regular life is regular life. I’m not on one big vacay, I’m doing the daily livin’ thing as a poor teacher. Sometimes that just involves watching Confessions of a Shopaholic with Spanish subtitles and eating chocolate…..what can I say.

This week had some ups and downs.

Ups involved getting one more class (still need more work! Right now I have about 5 classes a week. I need more like 8-12 classes a week to be makin’ ma rent), going to the ZOO, and getting my apartment and life more straightened out. The Zoo was sweet, I’m definitely going back. Sure, it wasn’t the best zoo I’ve ever been too, but giraffes and zebras and lions are always fun to see, and the older i get, the more I’m fascinated by exotic animals. Plus, the funicular is pretty cool.

Downs  of the week included having my camera die at the zoo, not having enough to do, cloudy weather, and general frustration with lack of work.

I think on the whole I feel  I’m hitting that one month mark where Chile is losing it’s exotic, newness and I’m starting to realize life is life, and work is work, even if it is in a fun new place. The money part is frustrating too. Not because I don’t have enough, but because life is expensive! Especially getting a new place. All the sudden paper towels, groceries, toilet paper, metro passes, shampoo, pots, and kitchen supplies all really start to add up. I’m not looking to make a fortune here, but I want to be making my rent and also just be more busy during the work week, feeling productive.

But, enough whining (unless it’s Winning or Wining). Really this is the life. And I’m very happy.

So happy, that I made delicious beef curry!

Shout out to Bryce in Uganda, this recipe is for you. For you and all the strange curry mixtures you made. Even though I made fun of you, some of them were pretty legit and I’m totally copying you in this recipe. Yes, beef curry is not Chilean but its delicious, cheap, and easy.

Quick and Easy Beef Curry with Potatoes

Ingredients:

Beef (I bought a big chunky steak type cut. Any stew meat will work, and fatty is probably best), cut into cubes

I large carrot, diced

1 large onion, diced,

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tablespoon of minced fresh ginger

1 tablespoon of curry powder

1 tablespoon of cumin

1 teaspoon paprika

2 tablespoons of sugar (brown sugar is even better!)

2 tablespoons of salt

fresh lemon juice (one lemon will work)

black pepper

3 bay leaves

1 cinnamon stick

2-3 tablespoons olive oil

1 cup of water

Directions:

In a large pot, put the onion, garlic, olive oil, beef cubes, and all spices. Once the meat has browned a bit and the onions are soft, add the carrot, potatoes, and all spices except bay leaf, salt, and sugar. Once all the ingredients are mixed and fragrant, add the water, sugar, and salt, and put the lid on. I would let this baby simmer for about a half hour at least. you want the potatoes and carrots to be soft, and the liquid to have become nice and brown from all the meat juices. Once the curry look how you’d like it, and the juices have reduced to a thicker liquid, add lemon juice (or a splash of red wine vinegar).

Serve over rice with cilantro for garnish.

Well, I’m off to enjoy a sunny Friday afternoon. Have a great weekend!

Madras Beef Curry

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Life on the Daily: Beef Curry and My Beef with Chile

  1. Katie

    Oh Bryceticle. Some of those were scary. Like, would you like some octopus and orange juice ‘curry’ I made? This one looks delicious though.

  2. Life is life – so true.

  3. Dad

    Thriller Santiago?

Leave a Reply

