TGIF: Barros Luco and some needed relaxation


Aaaaahhh friday. Gotta love it. Best day of the week, hands down.

Today was a slow going, relaxing day. I got to sleep in, made some coffee, did a little translation work for extra money and took a long shower. It was beautiful and sunny today so I took a walk down to Providencia and decided to treat myself to lunch.

Mountains peeking out from behind the city.The colder is gets, the snowier the mountains. They are truly stunning. They almost look like a fake backdrop behind the city.

It’s Fall here in Santiago and the leaves are stunning, especially in Nuñoa where I live. It’s weird to have Fall twice is a row…

I strolled down Providencia looking for a little Chilean cafe to grab my first barros luco (or basically a Chilean a grilled cheese  sandwich with beef). I’d been meaning to try one and hadn’t got around to it. The thing with Chilean restaurants is they never give you menus! They always come to me and ask, “¿Que quieres?” and I’m like uh…..I dunno. So, I found a place that had barros luco on the outside menu and went for it.

The only thing that makes this special is they marinate the beef with olive, cumin, some red vine vinegar, garlic, and chilies which give it a little kick (not much). The sandwich takes it name from former Chilean President Rámon Barros Luco who always ordered this sandwich. FASCINATING 😉

It wasn’t bad! Not too special, but definitely a reliable choice. The sister sandwich to this is is barros jarpa which is a grilled cheese with ham (Jarpa was Luco’s cousin…apparently).

After my lunch I read a little of my book, The Elegance of the Hedgehog, which Amanda loaned to me by the fountain. It’s a good book! I’m been reading a lot because my life is now akin to a traveling salesmen. I go from house to house teaching English and take coffee breaks between where I read. I just finished The Best American Short Stories (2010) edited by Richard Russo which was one of the best books I’ve read. My only criticism is the lack of….let’s say….cultural balance. Many writers  writing about white people (tongue twister!). Could use some more flavor…but still. Incredible book/collection.

After a relaxing walk home, I crashed on the couch to watch Machuca (2004). I’d seen part of it in one of my spanish classes, but never finished it. Excellent movie set in Santiago during the takeover of Pinochet in the 70’s. I watched it all in spanish and understood about 85 percent! Not bad. It helps that I’ve learned some chilean slang.

Beautiful smog induced sunset post film viewing…

Happy Friday!

stayed tuned for humitas…coming soon!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “TGIF: Barros Luco and some needed relaxation

  1. Dad

    Enjoyed your day.

Leave a Reply

