Playing Tourist in Santiago: Santa Lucia and La Vega Chica


Sorry I’ve been so slack about updating the blog. I‘ve been busy doing a little writing elsewhere (see my new column in the The Santiago Times!), so apologies all of you looking to dive further into Latin American cuisine!

Also, the end of the month means a little less cash flow, so I’ve been back to the rice and beans routine. However, this weekend my housemate Amanda had a friend in town so I decided to join in the fun and  do some touristy activities in Santiago.

On Friday, I went to up to Cerro Santa Lucia, one of two very cool, walkable hills in the city that give a fabulous view of the cityscape. Unlike Cerro San Cristobal, Cerro Santa Lucia is much smaller and has beautiful fountains and old, spanish style buildings to explore.

Then Saturday, instead of the usual local market trip, Katie and I decided to go La Vega and get lunch before picking up our weekly veggie load. While I do love La Vega, it can be a bit hectic, and you have to lug your load all the way home. La Vega Chica, which is right next store, is a refreshing alternative. On the bottom floor they have veggies, fruit, everything you need just less selection. They also have clothes, shoes, coats, and on the second floor, in the back, about 20 different little tiny restaurants, outdoors, serving cheap, and delicious Peruvian and Chilean food, with a focus on seafood. We took a seat at a promising, bustling local and I order the pescado al frito and Katie got the ceviche de reineta. Both our meals came with pebre and pan and some seafood consome (a seafood broth with a few clams). The whole thing came out to a whopping total of about 6,000 (12 dollars) for both of us.

I originally wanted the Pulpo (Octopus) but they were out, but the fish was delicious. I can’t wait to back and try more dishes like…

Pastel de Jaiba -(Cheesy crab pudding…they have pastel de choclo, pastel de mariscos (seafood) endless pastels…)

Mariscal-seafood soup made with piure (red sea squirt), picoroco (giant barnacle) and ostiones (oysters) and choritos (mussels)

Chupe de Mariscos-cheesy seafood stew

And there’s more to discover!! I love seafood and was in heaven with fresh seafood on a lovely day in Santiago.

Stay tuned for a recipe for homemade tortillas (distinctly un-Chilean, but delicious!)

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Playing Tourist in Santiago: Santa Lucia and La Vega Chica

  1. Congrats on your column, Grace!

  2. Dad

    I’m enjoying your adventures, Bud.

  3. Hi, I check your blog regularly. Your writing style is witty,
    keep it up!

  4. I love what you guys are usually up too. This
    sort of clever work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

  5. It’s awesome designed for me to have a web page, which is good for my know-how. thanks admin

  6. Why users still use to read news papers when in this technological world everything is existing on web?

  7. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how
    much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

