Anchovy Pasta and Herbed Flatbread


Hola hola,

Espero que todos esten bien.

Santiago is absolutely beautiful right now. After a short week of teaching post Fiestas Patrias, I decided to have a nice, relaxing weekend enjoy the new wave of spring weather. There was some poolside chillin’, wine sippin’ and a really fun soccer practice with the Chilean women’s team I play with earlier this morning.

Oh yeah, and cooking.

Some of my cooking adventures went better than others.

The first thing I made, earlier this week, was a pasta recipe I found on one of my favorite blogs, The Wednesday Chef. I’d been wanting to make this recipe for a while, but was a little nervous about the anchovies. I’ve never really cooked with them, but this recipe looked really tasty. HOWEVER. I’m an idiot and bought sardines, instead of anchovies. I know the difference, but at the store, I totally spaced. Turns out, it sort of works with sardines. Would I recommend it? Meh, maybe. If you like your pasta really fishy. Sardines are much bigger than anchovies. They melt, but there is still a lot of fishy excess. I thought the recipe was actually really good, even so. Still, use anchovies for this recipe.

Then on Friday night, I had a serious craving for what, I deem, an Italian dinner. Is it really Italian? No. It just involves bread, cheese, wine, and some combination of olives and roasted vegetables.

But, instead of just buying bread, I decided to try making this herbed flatbread and I found a great recipe on one of my new favorite blogs, Sunday Suppers. 

The flat bread takes about an hour to rise, but it’s very easy to make and delicious straight out of the oven, topped with a little olive oil.

I also baked some squash with brown sugar, roasted some red peppers, and put together some olives with pine nuts, olive oil, sea salt, oregano, and a little red pepper.

YUM.

Well, back to the grind.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Anchovy Pasta and Herbed Flatbread

  1. elizabeth Ruhl

    I need to cook more. This stuff all looks really delicious. I want to come to Chile and eat for 2 weeks straight with you.

Leave a Reply

