Stuffed Zucchini (Zapallo Italiano Relleno) and Savory Rice


Yikes. This has definitely not been a great week for me. Last Sunday, I went to Viña and had my back pack robbed off the beach. We didn’t even leave the bags! They pulled a fast one. The bag had some jeans, my carnet, my credit card, my cell phone, my keys, everything. So, much of this week has been spent recovering all the things I need. Also, my camera was stolen, which put a damper on my food posts, but I hope to get one soon.

Then, yesterday I came down with food poisoning! I’m felling a little better now, but I’m not sure what I’ve done to offend the gods of luck and good fortune, but I ain’t getting none. Sigh. Hope for good things soon. In the meantime, I’m on a toast and 7-Up diet.

Enough bummertown, back to food.

A  few weeks ago I made this dish after seeing my friend order it at a restaurant in Bellas Artes. It looked delicious, simple, and tasty so I gave it a go! The results were tasty.

Stuffed Zucchini and Savory Rice

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup of white rice

1 bouillon cube

2 gloves of garlic, minced

One zucchini, halved with the seeds scooped out

1/2 lb of ground beef

1 egg, beaten

1/4 cup of bread crumbs

1 chopped onion

1 tablespoon oregano

salt

pepper

crushed red pepper

parmesan/mozarella

1/4 cup tomato sauce

DIRECTIONS:

Boil the zucchini in hot water for about 6 minutes, then remove, dry, and put in a baking dish.

Then, sautee the ground beef and onion in a fry pan until browned. Add all other ingredients, except the cheese, and cook for 10 minutes. Add mixture into the zucchini halves with the cheese on top at bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

For the rice, cook the rice with garlic and oil in a pan, then add 2 cups of water and the bouillon cube and cook until the water evaporates.

Easy to make, easy on a budget!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Stuffed Zucchini (Zapallo Italiano Relleno) and Savory Rice

  1. pr

    I’ll tell you tomorrow… i will try tonight your recipe… wish me luck

Leave a Reply

