Birthday Happenings and Mini Chocolate Lava Cakes


November is finally here. And in Santiago, that means summer is coming. I may or may not have spent the day by the pool. Life is hard. Also, today is 11/11/11. I think that is a good omen.

The last few weeks were a little hectic, but I had today off (LOVE Fridays off) and had a moment to do a little blogging.

On Saturday last week, Amanda and I had a joint birthday party at Japon, an awesome sushi restaurant right off Baquedano metro. We rented out the katami room, which was fun (take your shoes off, big table, that sort of thing) It was delicious, almost as good as back home. I spent way too much money, but it was worth every penny. (Sorry about the poor quality photos. I still am lacking in that department)

I mean, real tuna? agedashi tofu? Tempura? Couldn’t  resist and I was smiling all night.

On Sunday, I made chocolate cakes for Amanda and I. My mom is the best mom in the world and sent me the recipe for these awesome, flourless chocolate lava cake. She also sent me all the ingredients in tiny little mason jars and all I had to do was buy eggs and salt! This recipe is so fast, and so rich and delicious. My mom even sent me my favorite caramels in the world (Fran’s salted caramels) to put in the center. These are criminally good.

Mini Chocolate Lava Cakes with Salted Caramels
These cakes are quick to make and cook, they are gluten free, and they travel well to parties and potlucks.
Ingredients

¾ cup (4-5 ounces) dark chocolate
2 tablespoons creamy almond butter
2 eggs
¼ cup unrefined cane sugar (rapadura or sucanat) sugar
Pinch of sea salt
1 tablespoon sweet potato or millet flour
2 pieces chocolate covered salted caramel, cut into 4 pieces

Directions
1.  Preheat the oven to 450F and butter 4 four-ounce mason jars (small ramekins work too); set aside.
2.  Place the chocolate and nut butter in a bowl and place it over a pot of simmering water. Stir until melted.
3.  Combine the eggs with the sugar and a pinch of salt. Beat until pale and light in color, and the volume of the batter has doubled.
4.  Fold in gently the flour and then the chocolate. Divide the batter between the jars (keep 1/3 of the batter).   Add pieces of caramels and cover with the rest of the batter. Bake for 8-10 to minutes or until the tops of the cakes have just set and start to crack. The less time you bake the cakes the more gooey the center will be.

Preparation time: 20 minutes
Makes 4 mini-cakes
Adapted by Cynthia Lair and Sasha Selden from La Tartine Gourmande (http://www.latartinegourmande.com/2010/04/26/chocolate-tahini-goeey-cake)

Wanna make them un-gluten free? Use peanut butter and regular flour as a substitute for almond butter and regular flour for potato flour.

See? It must be easy if I can make it. I’m terrible with desserts and this was fabulous!

SIDENOTE: Apparently, you don’t add the whole caramel, only a piece of it. I gotta say though, it was still good! Maybe not as “fluffy” but very rich. Your call.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Birthday Happenings and Mini Chocolate Lava Cakes

  1. Amy

    Those look great! I’m glad you had a good birthday celebration!

  2. Darling Grace, you put a little sliver of the salted caramel in each cake. Not the whole thing. Otherwise too heavy for the light little cake to rise…

  3. Hey there. I absolutely love your blog and all that you´re doing. My wife and I actually moved down to Santiago this past August and absolutely love it here. Quick question; Have you found mason jars here in Santiago? We want to try these mini chocolate lava cakes, but I haven´t had much luck finding the mason jars. I´ve seen the regular wide mouth glass jars in Lider, but no mason jars yet. Plus I´ve been looking for some mason jars for other recipes. Thanks a bunch.

Leave a Reply

